15 Wednesday

We are still finalising the running order for the Events over the three days of IndieRecon, so keep checking back to discover all of the exiting new things we have in line for you.

All times listed in PST/EST/BRST/GMT/SAST/IST/AEDT : Check each event for the local time in your area

8:30 am New York
1:30 pm London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

What Authors Need to Know Now – 2015: Mark Coker and Orna Ross

The self-publishing world is changing. What worked for indie authors in years past is no longer so effective while new formats, sales solutions and opportunities are emerging, globally and at home. Join Mark Coker, founder of Smashwords in interview with Orna Ross, Director of the Alliance of Independent Authors for a wide-ranging discussion, top tips and predictions. EVENT TIMES 05:30 am PST/08:30 am EST/09:30…

Speaker:
Mark Coker, Orna Ross
Level:
All Welcome
Format:
Video Interview
Sponsor:
BooksGoSocial
Ingram Spark
12 pm New York
5 pm London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

Get Sticky: Create Top of Mind Awareness with Readers: Joy Capps

Overview Authors that are top of mind with readers results in more book sales. In this session, you’ll learn how to build awareness, credibility and trust by creating long-term top of mind awareness with your readers. Session attendees will learn: • Steps to achieve long-term top of mind awareness • Ideas for creating top of…

Speaker:
Joy Capps
Format:
Live Webinar
Level:
All Welcome
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
1 pm New York
6 pm London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

Content Marketing 101: Jane Friedman

Jane is a recognised as outstanding educator of authors in the digital age, renowned for her style of telling it as it is, without drama or hype. Join her and ALLi Director Orna Ross for a live session in which she  outlines the importance of using your content in various forms and how to be smart…

Speaker:
Jane Friedman
Level:
All Levels Welcome
Format:
Video Interview
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
2 pm New York
7 pm London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

How to run a Great Author Co-operative: Christopher Joyce of CHINDI

Want to know how to set up a local network of self-published authors? Members of the Chichester based group of independent authors share some of the lessons learned a year on. Mistakes were made along the way and we share these with you to help you form a local group yourself. How do you attract…

Speaker:
Chris Casburn
Level:
All Welcome
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
3:30 pm New York
7:30 pm London
Beginner Session IndieReCon

Writer Beware!: Victoria Strauss

With Victoria Strauss Join in this Twitter chat to ask Victoria Strauss (@victoriastrauss) all your questions on what scams and bad practices to look out for and how to avoid them. Victoria will be on hand for the full hour to offer her expertise in an area she has been involved in since setting up…

Speaker:
Victoria Strauss
Venue:
Online Twitter Chat
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
7:30 pm New York
12:30 am Thu London
Master Class Writing and Publishing IndieReCon

How to Make a Living with Your Writing: Joanna Penn

Joanna Penn left her day job in September 2011 to become a full-time author entrepreneur. She is a NY Times and USA Today bestselling thriller author under J.F.Penn, as well as writing non-fiction for authors. She is also an international speaker and entrepreneur, voted as one of The Guardian UK Top 100 creative professionals 2013. In…

Speaker:
Joanna Penn
Level:
Masterclass
Format:
VIDEO
Sponsor:
Book Design Templates
Bublish
Ingram Spark
9 pm New York
2 am Thu London
Master Class Writing and Publishing IndieReCon

Book Design For Authors – The Basics: Joel Friedlander

Join ALLi Book Design advisor Joel Friedlander for a talk about book design needs. What’s your perfect book interior and why? In discussion with David Penny, Joel assesses the various ways indie authors can approach book design, and the tools and platforms available for great book covers. The chat also covers how design fits into…

Speaker:
Joel Friedlander
Format:
Webinar Interview
Level:
Masterclass
Sponsor:
Bublish
Ingram Spark
11 pm New York
4 am Thu London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

Self Publishing and Marketing Children’s Picture Books: Karen Inglis

Hear London-based children’s author, Karen Inglis, talk through top tips and home truths about self-publishing children’s picture books – including why print and selling face-to-face matters, costing your project, finding illustrators and making the most of your artwork to plan, promote and run school events and to support local bookshops.…

Speaker:
Karen Inglis
Level:
All Welcome
Format:
Video
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark

16 Thursday

All times listed in PST/EST/BRST/GMT/SAST/IST/AEDT : Check each event for the local time in your area

12:00 am New York
5 am London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

How to work with a Cover Designer? : Guido Caroti

Join Guido Caroti as he explains the best practices for working with a cover artist. Topics covered: How to find your ideal cover designer Communicating successfully with your designer Reviewing cover drafts. What to expect When the designer’s comps don’t work for you The pros and cons of designing for a genre Bringing your own…

Speaker:
Guido Caroti
Level:
All Welcome
Format:
Blog Post
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
1 am New York
6 am London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

Self Publishing in Ireland 2015: Vanessa Fox O’Laughlin

Ireland is unique in being the only English language country in the Eurozone. Its capital, Dublin, also hosts the HQ of many of the large tech companies like Google, who are now seeking to grow their book business. Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin, founder of www.writing.ie, talks about the value of self-publishing in giving voice to new Irish talent.…

Speaker:
Vanessa Fox O'Loughlin
Level:
All Welcome
Format:
Blog Post
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
7:30 am New York
12:30 pm London
Beginner Session IndieReCon

13 reasons you’re not as successful an author as you should be: Jim Kukral

In this motivational and “tough-love” session, Jim explains the things holding you back from success as an author. Sometimes success is about more than book marketing tactics and writing good books. Sometimes… it’s in your head. Ready to be motivated? Ready to hear some things you might not want to hear about your own success…

Speaker:
Jim Kukral
Level:
Beginner
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
10 am New York
2:30 pm London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

How to find your first 10,000 Readers: Nick Stephenson

In this ALLi Insights Seminar from the The Alliance of Independent Authors Orna Ross and Nick Stephenson review the three-step strategy Nick used to grow a six-figure income from his fiction and non-fiction books. They also discuss how to: – Understand your market and drive thousands of paying readers to your books – Build your author…

Speaker:
Nick Stephenson
Level:
All Welcome
Format:
Video
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
11 am New York
4 pm London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

Online Bookstores available to Indie Authors: Ben Galley

Come and discuss all the different sorts of online bookstores that are open to indie authors with Ben Galley, self-publishing consultant and Guardian Masterclass tutor.…

Speaker:
Ben Galley
Level:
All Welcome
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
Format:
Webinar + Live Chat
4 pm New York
9 pm London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

Writing and the digital revolution: how technology can help authors to increase their chances of success: Monique Duarte

In this session Monique Duarte, CEO of online publishing platform FicShelf, talks about the effects of the digital revolution on the publishing process, including practical tips for building an audience online, the top digital tools for current and aspiring authors, and the implications for traditional publishing. The session also covers broader discussion topics, posing the…

Speaker:
Monique Duarte
Level:
All Welcome
Sponsor:
FicShelf
Ingram Spark
Format:
Blog Post
4:30 pm New York
9:30 pm London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

Working with the right publishing professionals: Ricardo Fayet

With thousands of books being published every day, standing out of the crowd means producing work of the highest professional standards. No author can reach those on his or her own, which is why editors, proofreaders and designers are invaluable. If you work with the right ones, they will become your unsung heroes; but finding…

Speaker:
Ricardo Fayet
Level:
All Welcome
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
5 pm New York
10 pm London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

Creating Book Soundtracks on Booktrack: Jason Hovey

Learn how to publish and sell your work to a global audience by using Booktrack to add soundtracks to your stories. This session will give you the basics of the Booktrack platform and show you how easy it is to add a soundtrack to your digital text and instantly publish for free and sell your…

Speaker:
Jason Hovey
Format:
Webinar/Chat
Level:
All Welcome
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
7 pm New York
Midnight London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

How to Sell on Amazon by the Truckload: Penny Sansevieri

Penny Sansevieri shares her extensive knowledge in this Live Google Hangout Webinar. Please join the meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone. Event Times 04:00 pm PST/07:00 pm EST/08:00 pm BRST/12:00 am BST/01:00 am SAST/04:30 am IST/10:00 am AEDT…

Speaker:
Penny Sansevieri
Format:
Webinar
Level:
All Welcome
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
8 pm New York
1 am Fri London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

How to Sell a Bazillion Books! : HM Ward

Join one of the superstars of Indie writing, HM Ward, for this Video presentation. H.M. Ward continues to reign as an independent New York Times bestselling author who is swiftly approaching 10 million copies sold to date, placing her among the literary titans. Ward has been featured in articles in The New York Times, USA Today,…

Speaker:
HM Ward
Level:
All Welcome
Format:
Video
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
9 pm New York
2 am Fri London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

Self Publishing in Canada: Patricia Sands

Event Times Patricia Sands tells us all about the Indie scene in Canada. 06:00 pm PST/09:00 pm EST/10:00 pm BRST/02:00 am BST/03:00 am SAST/06:30 am IST/12:00 pm AEDT…

Speaker:
Patricia Sands
Level:
All Welcome
Format:
Blog Post
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
10 pm New York
3 am Fri London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

Author Lessons: Creative Round Table: Christine Nolfi, Roz Morris, David Penny

This video session calls on the experience of a range of Indie writers who share how they get, and remain, creative. What routines do they use to write? How do they prepare for a new project? How do they break through barriers to writing? Join us to find answers to these questions and a whole…

Speaker:
Christine Nolfi
Roz Morris
David Penny
Level:
All Welcome
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
Format:
Video Discussion

17 Friday

On Friday 17th, IndieReCon goes live

LONDON BOOK FAIR (LBF) INDIE AUTHOR FRINGE FESTIVAL 

In association with London Book & Screen Week. 

Hosted at Foyles, the epicentre of indie book culture, we’ll be setting up stalls and creating an unmissable day of self-publishing talks, discussions, connection and clinics.

We’ll also have satellite events around the world on that day.

Register your attendance LIVE at the Indie Fringe Festival.

All times listed in PST/EST/BRST/GMT/SAST/IST/AEDT : Check each event for the local time in your area

5 am London
12 am New York
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

How to Self Edit your Book: Jessica Bell

Event Times Author Jessica Bell shares her tips on how to self-edit your book. 09:00 am PST/12:00 am EST/01:00 am BRST/05:00 am BST/06:00 am SAST/09:30 am IST/03:00 pm AEDT…

Level:
All Welcome
Format:
Blog Post
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
Speaker:
Jessica Bell
6 am London
1 am New York
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

Pinterest for Authors – Build your Brand with Pins and Boards: Jay Artale

Find out how authors and other writers are embracing Pinterest to build an online relationship with 80 Million people. Pinterest isn’t just for girls, and it’s no longer US-centric! It’s time to rethink this virtual bulletin board and incorporate it into your social media strategy. Pinterest can convert global readers into customers faster than Twitter…

Speaker:
Jay Artale
Format:
Blog Post
Level:
All Welcome
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
8 am London
3 am New York
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

International Markets and Indies: Dan Wood

Event Times With Dan Wood 12:00 am PST/03:00 am EST/04:00 am BRST/08:00 am BST/09:00 am SAST/12:30 pm IST/06:00 mm AEDT…

Speaker:
Dan Wood
Level:
All Welcome
Format:
Blog Post
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
8:30 am London
3:30 am New York
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon

Demo of PubCoder Software for Creating Children’s eBooks : Karen Inglis

Demo of the basic features of PubCoder software for converting picture books into eBooks and apps using Karen Inglis’s latest work in progress, Ferdinand Fox and the Hedgehog. PubCoder is currently available for Macs but coming to PCs soon. Event Times 12:30 pm PST/03:30 am EST/04:30 am BRST/08:30 am BST/09:30 am SAST/01:00 pm IST/06:30 pm…

Speaker:
Karen Inglis
Format:
Video
Level:
All Welcome
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
10 am London
5 am New York
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

Live At Foyle’s: Registration and Networking

Come in, grab a tea or coffee and chat with other writers, agents, artists, editors, cover-designers, bloggers and all round nice folk while you wait in eager anticipation for the first event.…

12:25 pm London
7:40 am New York
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

Live At Foyle’s: Sell More Books, Sell More Rights. Toby Mundy, Scott Beatty, Sharmaine Lovegrove and Katie Donelan

Join us for a special live panel chaired by ALLi’s literary agent, Toby Mundy of TMA.  Panelists Scott Beatty of Trajectory, a company that has developed a new language based analysis and algorithm to match books and readers; book-scout Sharmaine Lovegrove of Dialogue Berlin & Fremantle Media, and Katie Donelan of BookBub discuss various ways…

Speaker:
Toby Mundy
Scott Beatty
Katie Donelan
Sharmaine Lovegrove
2:15 pm London
9:15 am New York
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

Live at Foyle’s: How Self-Publishing is Changing Trade Publishing: Alison Baverstock, Robert Caskie, Robin Cutler

We hear a lot about how self-publishing needs to learn from trade publishing but not so much about the changes that are taking place in the other direction. Join Chair Porter Anderson as he shares his own wisdom gleaned as a global publishing commentator, and explores this key question with panelists Robert Caskie, Senior Agent at Peter Frazer…

Speaker:
Porter Anderson
Dr Alison Baverstock
Robert Caskie
Robin Cutler
3:15 pm London
10:15 am New York
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

Live at Foyle’s: Authors4Bookstores Campaign: Debbie Young & Piers Alexander

Join Debbie Young and Piers Alexander as they introduce the new #Authors4Bookstores campaign. All writers and readers love bookstores and want to see at least one on every high street. Our new campaign encourages and enables indie authors and bookstores to form mutually beneficial, supportive relationships. (And we’ll be distributing a free book Open Up To Indie Authors in…

Speaker:
Debbie Young
Piers Alexander
3:30 pm London
10:30 am New York
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

Live at Foyle’s: Top Indie Author Advice Panel: Rachel Abbot, Mark Dawson, Steena Holmes, CJ Lyons, Mark McGuiness, Nick Stephenson

Join Chair Joanna Penn and a knockout panel of elite indie authors, Rachel Abbott, Mark Dawson, Steena Holmes, CJ Lyons, Mark McGuinness, Nick Stephenson.  Seven authors at the top of their game, who have published a bazillion books between them, line up to answer the audience’s rapid-fire questions on all aspects of self-publishing fiction, nonfiction and poetry.…

Speaker:
Rachel Abbott
Mark Dawson
Steena Holmes
CJ Lyons
Joanna Penn
Mark McGuinness
Nick Stephenson
Sponsor:
Reedsy
Ingram Spark
4:15 pm London
11:15 am New York
Keynote Speech IndieReCon

Live at Foyle’s: Closing Ten-Minute Talk: Orna Ross & Porter Anderson

Orna Ross and Porter Anderson wish ALLi & IndieRecon a Happy 3rd Birthday by discussing the evolution of author-publishing since 2013 — with a quick look to how authors can best plan for what’s coming down the track.…

Speaker:
Orna Ross
Porter Anderson
4.30 pm London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

Live at Foyle’s: Indie Author Fair and Speed Dating One-to-Ones

The Conference is closed, but that doesn’t mean you have to leave. We invite you to stay around for the Indie Author Fair organised by the Triskele Collective and browse through a showcase of ALLi members’ books. Or book in for a Speed Dating Q&A information session: a five-minute one-to-one with one of our author experts:…

6 pm London
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

Live at Foyle’s: Drinks, Fun & Frolics

Okay, now the conference is really over. The corks are popping and so are our thoughts with everything we have learned. So please hang around, keep on book browsing, while enjoying a drink and some finger food, while you chat with your new author and reader friends.…

7:30 pm London
2:30 pm New York
All Levels Welcome IndieReCon Reaching Readers

Planning Successful Social Media Campaigns: Kathy Meis

Just as publishing has been transformed in recent years by the emergence of digital, so has marketing been dramatically altered by the advent of social media. Social marketing presents immense opportunity for authors and publishers who want to reach and engage new audiences. All too often, however, a lack of strategy, tools and proper measurement…

Speaker:
Kathy Meis
Level:
All Welcome
Format:
Video and Twitter Chat
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark
10 pm London
5 pm New York

Closing Giveaways and Contest Winners: Ali Cross

And now it really is all over for another year! Join us to find out who the Giveaway and Contest Winners are. Event Times 02:00 pm PST/05:00 pm EST/06:00 pm BRST/10:00 pm BST/11:00 pm SAST/02:30 am IST/11:00 am AEDT…

Speaker:
Ali Cross
Sponsor:
Ingram Spark