How to Self Edit your Book: Jessica Bell

April 17, 2015 5:00 am BST

Event Times

Author Jessica Bell shares her tips on how to self-edit your book.

09:00 am PST/12:00 am EST/01:00 am BRST/05:00 am BST/06:00 am SAST/09:30 am IST/03:00 pm AEDT

Conference Gold Sponsor: Ingram Spark

ingramspark-01

Pinterest for Authors – Build your Brand with Pins and Boards: Jay Artale

April 17, 2015 6:00 am BST

Find out how authors and other writers are embracing Pinterest to build an online relationship with 80 Million people. Pinterest isn’t just for girls, and it’s no longer US-centric! It’s time to rethink this virtual bulletin board and incorporate it into your social media strategy. Pinterest can convert global readers into customers faster than Twitter and Facebook, so isn’t it about time you gave it a second look?

Self Publishing in Switzerland: JJ Marsh

April 17, 2015 7:00 am BST

With JJ Marsh

Self Publishing in New Zealand: Dawn Grant

April 17, 2015 7:30 am BST

With Dawn Grant

International Markets and Indies: Dan Wood

April 16, 2015 8:00 am BST

Event Times

With Dan Wood

12:00 am PST/03:00 am EST/04:00 am BRST/08:00 am BST/09:00 am SAST/12:30 pm IST/06:00 mm AEDT

Conference Silver Sponsor: Draft2Digital

Draft2Digital-Logo-300

Conference Gold Sponsor: Ingram Spark

ingramspark-01

Demo of PubCoder Software for Creating Children’s eBooks : Karen Inglis

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Google PlusVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our Feed

April 17, 2015 8:30 am BST

Demo of the basic features of PubCoder software for converting picture books into eBooks and apps using Karen Inglis’s latest work in progress, Ferdinand Fox and the Hedgehog. PubCoder is currently available for Macs but coming to PCs soon.

Event Times

12:30 pm PST/03:30 am EST/04:30 am BRST/08:30 am BST/09:30 am SAST/01:00 pm IST/06:30 pm AEDT

Conference Gold Sponsor: Ingram Spark

ingramspark-01

Self Publishing in Translation: Athina Papa

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Google PlusVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our Feed

April 17, 2015 10:30 am BST

With Athina Papa.

Live At Foyle’s: Registration and Networking

April 17, 2015 10:00 am BST

Come in, grab a tea or coffee and chat with other writers, agents, artists, editors, cover-designers, bloggers and all round nice folk while you wait in eager anticipation for the first event.

Live At Foyle’s: Opening Ten Minute Talk on Serving Your Readers: CJ Lyons

April 17, 2015 11:00 am BST

CJ Lyons opens our London Book Fair Indie Author Fringe Fest with the first of our “Ten Minute Talks”: a plea that all authors, howsoever published, should put their readers at the heart of their endeavours.

Live At Foyle’s: Public Money & Indie Authors: Debbie Young, John Prebble, Peter Urpeth, Nicola Solomon

April 17, 2015 11:30 am BST

Join Debbie Young of the Alliance of Independent Authors as she chairs a discussion with panellists Peter Urpeth of Scottish based Creative Agency, Emergents; John Prebble of Arts Council of England Literature Relationship Manager and Nicola Solomon of the Society of Authors.

Live At Foyle’s: Ten Minute Talk: Should Literary Fiction & Poetry Be Protected? Dan Holloway & Rohan Quine

April 17, 2015 12:15 pm BST

Dan Holloway and Rohan Quine think so and are here to tell you why.

Live At Foyle’s: Sell More Books, Sell More Rights. Toby Mundy, Scott Beatty, Sharmaine Lovegrove and Katie Donelan

April 17, 2015 12:25 pm BST

Join us for a special live panel chaired by ALLi’s literary agent, Toby Mundy of TMA.  Panelists Scott Beatty of Trajectory, a company that has developed a new language based analysis and algorithm to match books and readers; book-scout Sharmaine Lovegrove of Dialogue Berlin & Fremantle Media, and Katie Donelan of BookBub discuss various ways to sell more books and sell more rights.

Live at Foyle’s: Lunch and Networking

April 17, 2015 1:15 pm BST

Take the opportunity to digest both what you’ve heard this morning and your lunch and meet up with friends old and new.

Live at Foyle’s Ten Minute Talk: Porter Anderson Presents Self-e

April 17, 2015 2:05 pm BST

SELF-e is a program that puts authors’ ebooks in front of librarians in the US. Porter Anderson introduces SELF-e, for which authors everywhere can sign up any books to which they hold e-rights: how to get into the program and the requirements and benefits.

Live at Foyle’s: How Self-Publishing is Changing Trade Publishing: Alison Baverstock, Robert Caskie, Robin Cutler

April 17, 2015 2:15 pm BST

We hear a lot about how self-publishing needs to learn from trade publishing but not so much about the changes that are taking place in the other direction. Join Chair Porter Anderson as he shares his own wisdom gleaned as a global publishing commentator, and explores this key question with panelists Robert Caskie, Senior Agent at Peter Frazer Dunlop; Dr Alison Baverstock, Associate Professor, Department of Journalism and Publishing, Kingston University and Robin Cutler of Ingram Spark: how self-publishing is affecting the way trade publishers, editors, agents and bookshops do business.

Live at Foyle’s: Authors4Bookstores Campaign: Debbie Young & Piers Alexander

April 17, 2015 3:15 pm BST

Join Debbie Young and Piers Alexander as they introduce the new #Authors4Bookstores campaign. All writers and readers love bookstores and want to see at least one on every high street. Our new campaign encourages and enables indie authors and bookstores to form mutually beneficial, supportive relationships. (And we’ll be distributing a free book Open Up To Indie Authors in which Debbie Young and co-author Dan Holloway show how.)

Live at Foyle’s: Top Indie Author Advice Panel: Rachel Abbot, Mark Dawson, Steena Holmes, CJ Lyons, Mark McGuiness, Nick Stephenson

April 17, 2015 3:30 pm BST

Join Chair Joanna Penn and a knockout panel of elite indie authors, Rachel Abbott, Mark Dawson, Steena Holmes, CJ Lyons, Mark McGuinness, Nick Stephenson.  Seven authors at the top of their game, who have published a bazillion books between them, line up to answer the audience’s rapid-fire questions on all aspects of self-publishing fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

Live at Foyle’s: Closing Ten-Minute Talk: Orna Ross & Porter Anderson

April 17, 2015 4:15 pm BST

Orna Ross and Porter Anderson wish ALLi & IndieRecon a Happy 3rd Birthday by discussing the evolution of author-publishing since 2013 — with a quick look to how authors can best plan for what’s coming down the track.

Live at Foyle’s: Indie Author Fair and Speed Dating One-to-Ones

April 17, 2015 5:00 pm BST

The Conference is closed, but that doesn’t mean you have to leave. We invite you to stay around for the Indie Author Fair organised by the Triskele Collective and browse through a showcase of ALLi members’ books. Or book in for a Speed Dating Q&A information session: a five-minute one-to-one with one of our author experts: Mark Dawson, Ben Galley, Steena Holmes, CJ Lyons, Joanna Penn or Nick Stephenson. IngramSpark, Apple iBooks and some other author services will also be available for networking and information.

Live at Foyle’s: Drinks, Fun & Frolics

April 17, 2015 6:00 pm BST

Okay, now the conference is really over. The corks are popping and so are our thoughts with everything we have learned. So please hang around, keep on book browsing, while enjoying a drink and some finger food, while you chat with your new author and reader friends.

7 Secrets to your Ultimate Bestseller: Bridget Cook

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Google PlusVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our Feed

April 17, 2015 6:00 pm BST

With Bridget Cook

Event Times

10:00 am PST/1:00 pm EST/02:30 pm BRST/06:00 pm BST/07:00 pm SAST/11:00 pm IST/04:00 am AEDT


Conference Gold Sponsor: Ingram Spark

ingramspark-01

Planning Successful Social Media Campaigns: Kathy Meis

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Google PlusVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our Feed

April 17, 2015 7:30 pm BST

Just as publishing has been transformed in recent years by the emergence of digital, so has marketing been dramatically altered by the advent of social media. Social marketing presents immense opportunity for authors and publishers who want to reach and engage new audiences. All too often, however, a lack of strategy, tools and proper measurement lead to frustration and poor ROI. This session will show authors how to lay the foundations for successful social marketing campaigns.

Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 8.08.17 AM

Event Times

11:30 am PST/02:30 pm EST/03:30 pm BRST/07:30 pm BST/08:30 pm SAST/12:00 am IST/05:30 am AEDT

Conference Silver Sponsor: Bublish

SmallBublishLogo_EATag

Conference Gold Sponsor: Ingram Spark

ingramspark-01

Publishing Platforms: An Introduction to Lightning Source: Lisa Horik

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Google PlusVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our Feed

April 17, 2015 9:00 pm BST

With Lisa Horik

Event Times

01:00 pm PST/04:00 pm EST/05:00 pm BRST/09:00 pm BST/01:30 am SAST/07:00 am IST/02:00 am AEDT

Conference Gold Sponsor: Ingram Spark

ingramspark-01

Closing Giveaways and Contest Winners: Ali Cross

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Google PlusVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our Feed

April 17, 2015 4:00 pm BST

And now it really is all over for another year!
Join us to find out who the Giveaway and Contest Winners are.

Event Times

02:00 pm PST/05:00 pm EST/06:00 pm BRST/10:00 pm BST/11:00 pm SAST/02:30 am IST/11:00 am AEDT

Conference Gold Sponsor: Ingram Spark

ingramspark-01